Government

Broward County Board of County Commissioners
Government Center, Room 421
115 S. Andrews Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
(954) 357-7000
www.broward.org

The commission appoints the county administrator, county attorney and commission auditor. The commission also appoints numerous advisory and regulatory boards. The County Commission meets in formal session the first four Tuesdays each month at 10 a.m. in Room 422 of the Broward County Governmental Center. The public is encouraged to attend commission meetings.

Broward County Administrator
Bertha Henry
954-357-7362
www.broward.org

The county administrator is the chief executive officer of Broward County and directs the government functions under the auspices of the county commission.

Broward County Office of Economic and Small Business Development
Sandy-Michael McDonald, Director
954-357-5673
www.broward.org/econdev

The mission of the Office of Economic and Small Business Development (OESBD) is to stimulate economic development by attracting, retaining and expanding targeted industries, including a special focus on small business growth, in order to enhance the quality of life for Broward County residents and visitors. OESBD works closely with key partners to accomplish its mission, including the Greater Fort Lauderdale Alliance.

OESBD is responsible for the protocol and international trade desk that includes the Diplomatic Services Room for Broward County, located at Fort Lauderdale- Hollywood International Airport. The office also handles export and trade including trade missions and conducts quarterly export workshops to increase exports.

Broward County’s OESBD also currently offers two certifications for small businesses, the County Business Enterprise (CBE) and the Small Business Enterprise (SBE), or Sheltered Market. Broward County is also part of the Florida Department of Transportation’s Unified Certification Program (UCP) and certifies firms located in Broward and Palm Beach counties for the Federal Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) program.

BROWARD COUNTY
Board of County Commissioners

District 1
Nan H. Rich
954-357-7001
nrich@broward.org

District 2
Mark D. Bogen
954-357-7002
mbogen@broward.org 

District 3
Michael Udine
954-357-7003
mudine@broward.org 

District 4
Chip LaMarca
954-357-7004
clamarca@broward.org

District 5
Steve Geller
954-357-7005
sgeller@broward.org

District 6 (Mayor)
Beam Furr 
954-357-7006
bfurr@broward.org

District 7
Tim Ryan 
954-357-7007
tryan@broward.org

District 8
Barbara Sharief
(954) 357-7008
bsharief@broward.org

District 9
Dale V.C. Holness
954-357-7009
dholness@broward.org