About Us


Broward Education Foundation Inducts Exemplary Broward County Public Schools Alumni into 2018 Hall of Fame
Published Friday, November 2, 2018

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. – Six community luminaries and champions in education, who are graduates of Broward County Public Schools, were recently inducted into Broward Education Foundation’s Hall of Fame during the Publix Super Markets Charities 2018 “Hall of Fame Breakfast” presented by Memorial Healthcare System.

Receiving the Bank of America Community Achievement Award for significant achievements in any field were:

Jeffrey R. Dion, a graduate of the class of 1985 from Nova High School and executive director of the National Compassion Fund, which partnered with Broward Education Foundation to disseminate proceeds from the official Stoneman Douglas Victims’ Fund
Christopher L. Smith, corporate attorney with Tripp Scott and member of the class of 1988 at Plantation High School
Bob Swindell, CEO of the Greater Fort Lauderdale Alliance and graduate of Boyd Anderson High School, class of 1979

The three inductees who received the Charter Schools of Excellence Education Achievement Award for their dedication to a career in public education were:
Angeline H. Flowers, principal of Charles Drew Elementary School and graduate of South Broward High School, class of 1991
Barbara J. Myrick, general counsel for the School Board of Broward County and member of the class of 1966 at Fort Lauderdale High School
Michael J. Ramirez, cadre director of the Office of School & Performance Accountability for Broward County Public Schools and Western High School graduate, class of 1991

The names of the inductees are forever etched on granite stars lining the BrightStar Credit Union “Walk of Fame” outside of the Broward County Public Schools District Office. 

In lieu of its annual Lifetime Achievement Award, this year Broward Education Foundation honored those lost in the February 14th tragedy with the JM Family Enterprises, Inc. Special Tribute to the Marjory Stoneman Douglas 17 Fallen Eagles. Following the breakfast, Broward Education Foundation unveiled a bronze eagle statue with a heart-shaped engraving titled “MSD 17 Fallen Eagles” and listing the names of those lost in the Parkland tragedy.

“It is with great pride that we welcome this illustrious group into the Hall of Fame for the indelible mark they’ve made on our community and beyond,” said Broward Education Foundation Executive Director Shea Ciriago. “It was a poignant ceremony this year as we honored the 17 Fallen Eagles with a special tribute and bronze memorial statue. We will forever be MSD Strong.”

Additional sponsors included Charter Schools of Excellence, Bank of America, B&I Contractors, D. Stephenson Construction, Inc., Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina, Wells Fargo, Video Dynamics and Artful Duck.

Photo credits: Downtown Photo

Photo 1: Bob Swindell and John Cotter



Photo 2:
Ron Drew, Juliet Roulhac and Charles Webster

Photo 3: Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School 17 Fallen Eagle Families and 2018 Hall of Fame Honorees

About the Broward Education Foundation: Celebrating its 35th Anniversary this year, the nonprofit Broward Education Foundation aligns with Broward County Public Schools by providing support for innovative teaching to advance Pre K-12 achievement; critically needed educational materials for Title I school teachers and students, and scholarships for qualified high school seniors.

Most recently responding to the Stoneman Douglas High School tragedy, Broward Education Foundation initiated a GoFundMe, established the official Stoneman Douglas Victims’ Fund and raised $10.5M for victims’ families, survivors and those impacted. Broward Education Foundation is proven adept, agile and responsive to shifting needs in education and the community.

For more information, call 754-321-2030, visit browardeducationfoundation.org, like our Facebook page at facebook.com/browardeducationfoundation or follow us on twitter @BrowardEdFound

Send this page to a friend

Show Other Stories